Home » Formula E » BMW among nine manufacturers listed for Formula E 2018/19 season
Octane Photographic
LAT Photographic / Formula E via Getty Images

BMW among nine manufacturers listed for Formula E 2018/19 season

The FIA has released the names of the nine manufacturers listed for homologation for Season Five, among which is BMW.

The German manufacturer is currently tied with the MS Amlin Andretti team, which is due to become a full works outfit for the 2018/19 season.

ABT Formel E also appear on the list ahead of Audi’s takeover of the ABT Schaeffler Sport team next season.

Also listed are DS Automobiles, Jaguar Land Rover, Mahindra Racing, NextEV NIO, Penske Automobiles, Renault and Venturi Automobiles.

Techeetah are the only customer team on the grid, using the Renault powertrain for this season, and do not have a manufacturer entry for Season Five.

“The mission of the FIA Formula E Championship is to act as a platform to advance the development of electric vehicle technology and alternative energy solutions – this hinges on the participation of automotive and component manufacturers,” said Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag.

“When we launched the series in 2012, we had forecast to secure at least three manufacturers by Season 5. The news today has highlighted the number and quality of manufacturers joining the championship and tripling our initial expectations.

“This just goes to show the relevance of Formula E to the motor industry and as an attractive proposition to new audiences and commercial partners, such as the recent agreement with Allianz.”

Mercedes has an option to enter the all-electric series in Season Five, although do not yet appear on the homologation list.

Season Five will see McLaren Applied Technologies take over from Williams Advanced Engineering as the sole battery supplier for Formula E, providing the technology for cars to complete the whole race distance with a single car.

A new chassis supplied by Spark Racing Technology will also be used in Season Five, which featured a closed cockpit and lower drag aerodynamics to help the sport achieve its target of removing the mandatory mid-race car swap.

About Chris Stevens

Chris is one of the graduates of a new blogging era of journalism. Moving from that to fully blown websites, covering Formula One and Formula E, has seen him become an FIA accredited journalist. He also podcasts with various websites and recently was accepted onto the Autosport junior programme.

Check Also

Tom Dillmann Venturi Mexico City ePrix Formula E

Dillmann to race for Venturi at Paris ePrix

Venturi have revealed that reigning Formula V8 3.5 champion Tom Dillmann will replace Maro Engel for …

Sainz given three-place grid penalty for Stroll incident

Bahrain Grand Prix – Carlos Sainz has been given a three-place grid penalty for his …