All teams to take part in Pirelli in-season tests

All ten Formula One teams have signed an agreement with Pirelli and the FIA to perform in-season tyre tests.

As part of Pirelli’s in-season tyre development programme, the ten F1 teams will take part in eight mid-season tests spread across the year, some of which take place after Grand Prix events.

Only Mercedes, Red Bull and Ferrari tested tyres ahead of the 2017 season, and although they will still do most of the testing Pirelli have planned, the rest of the teams will have at least one test day using Pirelli’s 2018-spec tyre.

Teams are permitted to run their current cars, but cannot use updated parts and must notify the FIA of the chassis, bodywork configuration and power unit elements being used prior to the test, the programme for which will be arranged by Pirelli.

Data from the tests will be sent to all the teams, and those not taking part in particular tests will be allowed to send observers.

Pirelli 2017 test schedule

April 18-19: Sakhir – Ferrari (1 day)*

May 16-17: Barcelona – Renault/Toro Rosso (4 days)

May 31-June 1: Paul Ricard – Red Bull, wet (2 days)

June 29-30: Paul Ricard – Red Bull (2 days)

July 18-19: Silverstone – Williams/Haas (4 days)

July 19-20: Magny-Cours – McLaren, wet (2 days)

August 1-2: Hungaroring – Mercedes (1 day)*

August 3-4: Barcelona – Ferrari (2 days)

September 7-8: Paul Ricard – Mercedes (2 days)

October 31-November 1: Mexico City – Sauber (2 days), Force India (1 day)

November 14-15: Interlagos – McLaren (2 days)

*Tyre test taking place alongside in-season test

Show More

Chris Stevens

Chris is a member of the Autosport Academy and has been writing about motorsport professionally since 2015. He has been one of the top Formula E journalists since he went to Donington Park for pre-season testing a week after picking up his A-Level results.

Related Articles