W Series drivers to earn Superlicence points

From 2020, drivers taking part in the W Series championship will be eligible to add to their FIA Superlicence points tally.

The W Series championship will become eligible for FIA Superlicence points from the 2020 season onwards, say the series organisers.

The new women-only championship started its inaugural season earlier this year, with the aim of helping underfunded female drivers stay on the motorsport ladder. The F3-level championship is currently heading into the final rounds of this year’s championship, with the title chase being led by Jamie Chadwick.

Chadwick, since racing in W Series, has been signed by Williams F1 Team as a development driver.

From next season, the W Series will help the drivers taking part earn points towards their FIA Superlicence – this licence is required to be held by any driver driving a Formula 1 car in any official F1 capacity, ie. testing or Grands Prix weekends. Up until now, W Series did not count towards that.

The exact weighting of the championship, as well as the points allocated, has yet to be decided upon by the FIA.

The series also outlined the prize money structure for this year’s championship, with every driver on course for some form of payout after the season finale at Brands Hatch in the UK.

Here is the planned prize money structure, totaling 1.5 million US dollars:

1st place: US$500,000
2nd place: US$250,000
3rd place: US$125,000
4th place: US$100,000
5th place: US$90,000
6th place: US$80,000
7th place: US$70,000
8th place: US$60,000
9th place: US$50,000
10th place: US$40,000
11th place: US$30,000
12th place: US$25,000
13th place: US$20,000
14th place: US$15,000
15th, 16th, 17th and 18th places: US$7500
Reserves: US$7500

With two rounds remaining, four drivers have a chance of claiming the title and the top prize of half a million: Chadwick, Beitske Visser, Marta Garcia and Fabienne Wohlwend.

The drivers who finish in the first 12 places in the final 2019 W Series points standings will automatically be invited to enter the 2020 W Series. Drivers who finish below the first 12 places will be permitted to apply to enter the driver selection programme for the 2020 W Series. The details, timings and location(s) of that driver selection programme are yet to be finalised. Drivers who have not taken part in this year’s W Series may apply to enter the driver selection programme for next year’s W Series, as long as they (a) are female and (b) possess an FIA International C licence (or better).

Show More

Thomas Maher

Co-owner, Chief Editor and a journalist for FormulaSpy.com - Ireland's only accredited F1 & Formula E website. Enjoy my work - https://www.buymeacoffee.com/MidcHN8

Related Articles