Octane Photographic
Breaking NewsFormula 1 News

Testing Day Six – Live

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Circuit de Catalunya

Testing – Formula 1 2018 pre-season testing has resumed for the second week. Stay with us for live updates throughout the sixth day.

15:00 – It’s a steady afternoon so far, with a red flag a short while ago due to Sergey Sirotkin’s car stopping at the entrance to the pitlane.

Ricciardo’s earlier time of 1:18.0 remains fastest, and he’s up to 127 laps completed for the day.

Mercedes are up to 123 for the day between Hamilton this morning and Bottas this afternoon, while Sauber’s Charles Leclerc is up to almost 120 as well.

14:00 – ‘Lunch break’ is over, and we’ve a few driver changes. Sergey Sirotkin is in the Williams for the afternoon, Nico Hulkenberg in the Renault, Valtteri Bottas at Mercedes and Kimi Raikkonen is now in the Ferrari. He was scheduled to do the whole day today, but was unwell this morning. He’s now at the wheel, letting Sebastian Vettel rest after a day and a half of pretty big mileage.

13:00 – No official lunch break today, although several of the teams are shutting down unofficially for a break. Daniel Ricciardo has put in a final flourish at the halfway mark of the day, setting a 1:18.047 on the HyperSoft to set the fastest time ever seen at this circuit in its current layout. That puts him almost 0.4 clear of Hamilton at the top.

  1. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 1:18.047s 79 laps
  2.  Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:18.400s 75 laps
  3. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Ferrari 1:19.541s 68 laps
  4. Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:19.856s 47 laps
  5. Carlos Sainz Jr. Renault Sport 1:20.042s 68 laps
  6. Romain Grosjean Haas 1:20.237s 51 laps
  7. Lance Stroll Williams Martini Racing 1:20.349s 60 laps
  8. Esteban Ocon Sahara Force India F1 Team 1:20.805s 53 laps
  9. Brendon Hartley Red Bull Toro Rosso Honda 1:20.834s 53 laps
  10. Charles Leclerc Alfa Romeo Sauber 1:21.110s 71 laps

12:45 – We’ve a new fastest man at the top – Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo! He has set the fastest time in testing so far, with a 1:18.3 set on the HyperSoft.

McLaren have confirmed an oil leak was to blame for Alonso’s stoppage earlier – his car requires an engine change and it will be quite a while before he’s back out on track.

11:45 – 1:18.752 from Lewis Hamilton sees the Merc lower the benchmark again, with the reigning Champion setting that time on the SuperSoft tyres.

Ricciardo’s 1:19.3 on UltraSofts puts him P3, with Vettel P3 for Ferrari on the Softs.

11:20 – We’re back testing, following that red flag stoppage. It took a little while for the track to be cleared up, with concrete dust being used to absorb fluids around the area of Alonso’s stoppage.

We have everyone on track at the moment, with the exception of Alonso, and Daniel Ricciardo has popped himself into P2. He’s now just on half a second slower than Lewis Hamilton’s best time today, with the Red Bull setting its time on the UltraSoft tyre.

11:00 – Red flags at Catalunya. McLaren’s Fernando Alonso has broken down at Turn 5.

10:30 – Hamilton has just set the fastest time we’ve seen in testing so far – a 1:18.9 on the Mediums. That leaves him almost a second clear of P2 Fernando Alonso.

10:00 – In the first hour, we’ve seen Fernando Alonso & Lewis Hamilton go fastest, before a major surprise. Esteban Ocon, equipped with Medium tyres, put in a 1:19.0 to set the fastest time of testing so far. That was until it was revealed he had cut the final chicane, and his time was disallowed.

That means that, after one hours running, it’s Lewis Hamilton fastest with a 1:19.404, ahead of Fernando Alonso by almost half a second.

Ricciardo is P3 ahead of Sainz & Vettel, although the Ferrari is back on track now – Vettel was fastest on Tuesday.

09:00 – Welcome to Barcelona, where it’s a brisk and crisp morning with temperatures in the mid-teens. Looks like it’s set to be relatively representative conditions today, so there shouldn’t be any interruptions on the weather front.

Driving today, we have:

  • Mercedes – Lewis Hamilton
  • Ferrari – Sebastian Vettel (Kimi Raikkonen sitting out today as he’s not feeling well)
  • Red Bull Racing – Daniel Ricciardo
  • Force India – Esteban Ocon
  • Williams – Lance Stroll
  • Renault – Carlos Sainz
  • Toro Rosso – Brendon Hartley
  • Haas – Romain Grosjean
  • McLaren – Fernando Alonso
  • Sauber – Charles Leclerc



Thomas Maher

Co-owner, Chief Editor and a journalist for FormulaSpy.com - Ireland's only accredited F1 & Formula E website. Also working in the Irish radio broadcasting industry. Donations: PayPal - paypal.me/thomasmaheronf1 ETH/ERC20 - 0x9d0b8071180AAcB0bD5f0c1d43281768C73e8763

Related Articles