Porsche quit LMP1 for season six Formula E entry

Montreal ePrix – Porsche have announced that it will leave LMP1 at the end of this season to focus on a Formula E entry for season six.

The German manufacturer joins Mercedes in an entry for the 2019/20 season, bringing the field up to 12 teams.

“If somebody told me when we started this project five years ago, that we’d be announcing a partnership with a brand like Porsche, I wouldn’t have believed it,” said Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag.

“To have a name like Porsche in Formula E, with all it represents in terms of racing and heritage – and in terms of sport cars – is an inflexion point in our quest to change the public perception about electric cars.”

Porsche has also lined up its first range of electric cars, the first being the Mission E concept, which is due to be released by the end of the decade.

“Entering Formula E and achieving success in this category are the logical outcomes of our Mission E road car programme,” said Michael Steiner, Member of the Executive Board for Research and Development at Porsche AG.

“The growing freedom for in-house technology developments makes Formula E attractive to us.”

The arrival of Porsche means there will be 11 manufacturers in the series, alongside Mercedes, BMW, Audi, Nissan, Jaguar, Citroen-DS, Mahindra, NextEV, Venturi and Faraday Future.

Show More

Chris Stevens

Chris is a member of the Autosport Academy and has been writing about motorsport professionally since 2015. He has been one of the top Formula E journalists since he went to Donington Park for pre-season testing a week after picking up his A-Level results.

Related Articles