Jaguar signs Season One champion Piquet Jr alongside Evans

Jaguar have signed the season one Formula E champion Nelson Piquet Jr alongside Mitch Evans for the 2017/18 season.

The Brazilian has left the NextEV NIO team which he has raced for since the inaugural Formula E season, known as Team China Racing when he won the title.

“It’s a great honour to join Panasonic Jaguar Racing,” Piquet said.

“Jaguar has such a strong history in motorsport and it’s an exciting time to become part of the team. Their commitment to electric motorsport is inspiring and I’m looking forward to working with the team.”

It remains to be seen who NIO will sign as Piquet’s replacement. His former team mate Oliver Turvey is expected to remain with the team.

Jaguar have retained Mitch Evans from season three. The Kiwi scored the majority of Jaguar’s points in its debut season, with a best result of fourth in the Mexico City ePrix.

“With our new driver line-up we are aiming to be a strong challenger on the grid, regularly competing for points,” said Team Director James Barclay.

“We have taken a lot of learnings from season three and the team have been working extremely hard throughout the off-season, focusing on the design and development of the new Jaguar I-TYPE 2.”

The new car will make its first public appearance at pre-season testing in Valencia, starting on October 2, with a new livery to be unveiled as well.

Show More

Chris Stevens

Chris is a member of the Autosport Academy and has been writing about motorsport professionally since 2015. He has been one of the top Formula E journalists since he went to Donington Park for pre-season testing a week after picking up his A-Level results.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *