Rosenqvist storms to pole, title contender Buemi in 14th – Qualifying Report

Montreal ePrix – Felix Rosenqvist took pole for the Formula E season finale while title contender Sebastien Buemi qualified just 14th.

The Renault e.dams driver went out in the first group but locked his brakes and went wide into Turn 1. He will start 13th as his team mate Nico Prost, who qualified seventh, has a 20-place grid penalty for a change of battery and inverter.

Championship leader Lucas di Grassi was fifth, having also made a mistake at Turn 1 in Super Pole. This means the points gap remains 18 in the Brazilian’s favour. A fifth place in the race will guarantee him the championship, but will only need sixth if Buemi does not score the fastest lap.

Sam Bird will share the front row with Rosenqvist, after making a mistake at Turn 7 on his Super Pole lap. Jean-Eric Vergne was third ahead of Nick Heidfeld.

Tom Dillmann had his best Formula E qualifying in eighth for Venturi, ahead of Nelson Piquet Jr. and Stephane Sarrazin, who locked his brakes on his hot lap at Turn 1.

Jose Maria Lopez was just 12th after a mistake at the first corner.

The two Andretti drivers of Antonio Felix da Costa and Robin Frijns will line up behind Buemi on the grid.

Jaguar had a tough qualifying after Evans had a big moment at the start of his lap which has placed him just 18th on the grid. Adam Carroll qualified in last place.

Click here to see the qualifying results.

Show More

Chris Stevens

Chris is a member of the Autosport Academy and has been writing about motorsport professionally since 2015. He has been one of the top Formula E journalists since he went to Donington Park for pre-season testing a week after picking up his A-Level results.

Related Articles