Vergne takes maiden win as di Grassi claims Formula E title – Race Report

Montreal ePrix – Techeetah driver Jean-Eric Vergne took his first Formula E win as Lucas di Grassi claimed the championship in seventh.

Di Grassi lost a place at the start to Venturi’s Tom Dillmann, and rejoined from the pits outside of the points, but worked his way back up to seventh.

The championship hunt was over almost immediately for Renault e.dams’ Sebastien Buemi. Having started 13th on the grid after a disaster qualifying, he was touched by Antonio Felix da Costa at Turn 1 which broke his right-rear fender.

Buemi was shown the black and orange flag, forcing him to pit despite the flailing bodywork coming off of its own accord. He finished the race in 11th.

With Daniel Abt just sixth, e.dams have still taken the teams’ championship for the third consecutive year.

Rosenqvist finished second in the race. He pitted a lap earlier than Vergne, giving the Frenchman a pace advantage in the second half of the race. He lost the lead on Lap 29 of 37 into Turn 3.

Jose Maria Lopez recovered from 11th on the grid to taken a podium finish, again pitting a lap later than those around. He just edged out team mate Sam Bird, who completed his first stint with bent steering, and Mahindra’s Nick Heidfeld.

Stephane Sarrazin had contact with Abt into the first corner which spun him around, but he still managed to score points in eighth. Dragon’s Jerome D’Ambrosio and Venturi’s Dillmann completed the top ten.

Click here to see the race results.

Show More

Chris Stevens

Chris is a member of the Autosport Academy and has been writing about motorsport professionally since 2015. He has been one of the top Formula E journalists since he went to Donington Park for pre-season testing a week after picking up his A-Level results.

Related Articles