Vergne fends off Rowland to take Monaco win

Monaco E-Prix – Jean-Eric Vergne became the first repeat winner of the 2018/2019 Formula E season by taking a hard-fought win on the streets of Monaco.

Starting from an inherited pole position, Vergne spent most of the race with the fastest man from qualifying right behind him, but the Techeetah driver managed to resist late race pressure from Oliver Rowland to take the win and drivers’ championship lead.

Starting from fourth place, Rowland overtook Venturi’s Felipe Massa and profited from an early mistake from Mahindra’s Pascal Wehrlein to move into second, ahead of Massa – who took his first Formula E podium – and Wehrlein.

Two-time Monaco winner Nissans’ Sebastien Buemi lost touch with the leaders early on and finished fifth, with championship contender Antonio Felix da Costa finishing sixth for BMW.

Jaguar’s Mitch Evans and Audi Sport’s Daniel Abt took seventh and eighth, whilst the second Techeetah of Andre Lotterer recovered from a lowly starting position to take ninth, ahead of Jaguar’s Alex Lynn.

Championship contenders Lucas di Grassi, Sam Bird and Robin Frijns had been progressing through the field, with Bird in particular gaining several places to run sixth, but all three were involved in incidents which eliminated them from the race.

To view the full results from the race, click here.

Show More

Luke Murphy

As an FIA-accredited motor sport journalist, degree-level Motorsport Engineer and amateur karter, Luke's passion for motor sport is evident. He is one of the editors at FormulaSpy and one of the longest-standing members of the team.

Related Articles