Octane Photographic
Breaking NewsFormula E

Zurich added to revised Formula E calendar

A race in Zurich has been added to a revised season four Formula E calendar, marking Switzerland’s first motor race since 1954.

Zurich will be one of now four new races for the 2017/18 season following the publishing of the revised calendar at the World Motor Sport Council meeting in Paris on Thursday.

Motorsport was banned in Switzerland in 1955 as it was considered too dangerous. Amendments were made, however, in 2015 to open the door to fully-electric racing.

“I’m thrilled that Formula E is bringing racing back to Switzerland for the first time in over 60 years,” said Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag.

“This wouldn’t have been possible without the core fundamentals of Formula E – driving the electric revolution and sustainable mobility.

“Following the recent law changes this race was also made possible with the instrumental support of our Swiss partner, Julius Baer.

“I would like to express our gratitude to their CEO, Boris Collardi, and his entire team for their continued belief in Formula E – we’ve again been able to break new grounds in the world of motorsport.”

The Zurich ePrix will take place on June 10, following the Berlin ePrix which has now been confirmed to be hosted at the Tempelhof Airport after a switch to Munich was mooted.

The New York City ePrix double header has been pushed back one week to July 14-15.

Revised Formula E calendar

  • 1&2 Hong Kong – December 2-3
  • 3 Marrakesh – January 13
  • 4 Santiago – February 3, 2018
  • 5 Mexico City – March 3
  • 6 Sao Paulo – March 17
  • 7 Rome – April 14
  • 8 Paris – April 28
  • 9 Berlin – May 19
  • 10 Zurich – June 10
  • 11&12 New York City – July 14
  • 13&14 Montreal – July 28
Tags

Chris Stevens

Chris is a member of the Autosport Academy and has been writing about motorsport professionally since 2015. He has been one of the top Formula E journalists since he went to Donington Park for pre-season testing a week after picking up his A-Level results.

Related Articles

Privacy Preference Center

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?

Close